Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Opinions on Lexapro and Effexor?
Was interested in the thoughts of these two prescriptions.
Lex apro is an SSRI.  I was given those (not Lex apro) when I was a child and I hated them.  SSRI's are anti-depressants, where as eff xor is a nerve affector that I have no experience with.
I was prescribed Lexapro and I absolutely hated it within the first four days of being on it. My doctor then suggested I should increase my dosage which I did and told her if she had not listened to my first thoughts on the actual medication. I now have been given Effexor and I am on my second day. haven’t really felt anything different Partly because I have the flu and been sick so I can’t really distinguish anything in addition I take other medications so not sure how those will interact doctor says it’s fine but I’m considering changing my doctor. Thank you for your assistance and insight
(02-01-2018, 03:32 PM)Xfizzler Wrote: Was interested in the thoughts of these two prescriptions.

Hi Xfizzler hope you're ok everyone reacts slightly different to each medication so what works for me might not do it for you i have however switched from Mirtazepine to effexor (Venlafaxine) and have been on it for a year. I regard antidepressants as something that i will need all my life now after several unsuccessful attempts to come off them Venlafaxine is by far the best anti depressant i have been on and I've taken, its chemical molecule is almost identical to Tramadol and when I use that i get an amazing antidepressant side effect also, A word of caution though is that  I've heard its hell to come off it and it certainly bites me when I forget a dose as for the escitalopram i have not had experience with this one but i was on Citalopram for 6 years it did nothing to me at low doses and gave me manic episodes at high dose.