Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Tr@mad0l T@pering
Shocked 
I thought it may be a good idea to start a thread for t@pering off of tr@ms. I found some guides on other sites but was unsure if it was ethical to copy and post on here. Anyways, there comes a time for most people where we need to stop for a short time for reasons like: a new job, financial reasons, no refills left on script, or just to stave off the severe wlthdr@wl; so this thread is for hearing your methods for avoiding the most serious of symptoms. Be well everyone.
Currently i am on 2OO Mg daily. The idea i have for t@pering is to reduce by 5O mg every couple of weeks until i'm on 5O mg per day. When i get to that point, i'd reduce to 25 per until stoppage. Ive seen more comprehensive guides elsewhere but this is just my idea. I'm not a medical professional and this isnt a recommendation, it's more of an inquiry to see if anyone else sees a flaw in this routine.

*Do not try this at h0me*
Tramadol acts on a lot of neurotransmitters so I would go slowly. There is no shame in sticking at a reduced dose for quite a long time until settled (better than cutting too fast, and then going back to 200mg).

One observation about tapering, and this is not specific to tramadol, is to do with the percentage reductions.

200 --> 150 (drop of 25%)
150 --> 100 (drop of 33.3%)
100 --> 50 (drop of 50%)
50 --> 25 (drop of 50%)
25 --> 0 (drop of 100% - ok, you'll always get this effect at the jumping off point)

My point is you might find the early stages much easier. Cutting 50% might be harder. That's where you might consider a) taking your time (maybe more than two weeks per stage, especially at the end), and b) if there are any intermediate steps e.g. 100 --> 75. Anyone want to comment on that?